wild/precious

I don't know exactly what a prayer is./ I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down/… Tell me, what else should I have done?/ Doesn't everything die at last, and too soon?/ Tell me, what is it you plan to do/ with your one wild and precious life?–mary oliver

Barack Obama.

leave a comment »

This photo was taken at a rally with Obama and Biden at the University of Mary Washington in October.

The open letter was written on November 5th. I don’t have anything to add, except this: it has been an extraordinary week. The speech was amazing, striking all the right notes, and Obama is right. The time has come to put aside childish things and begin the work of rebuilding America.

Dear Barack (Can I call you Barack?)
CONGRATULATIONS. You did it. We did it. I know you said last night that this election is not about you, and you were right, it is about all of it. It is about everyone who voted yesterday, everyone who braved long lines and rain and missed work so that they could cast a ballot for the skinny man with the funny name.
But it is also about you. I cannot imagine another candidate who would have inspired people this way. You, Barack, are an amazing man. I have heard you speak, stood not thirty feet from you, and I know your power. Your magic.
I know that your presidency will not be perfect. People will be angry, and you will not go as far as I would like. But I believe that you will protect this country. I believe that you will help secure further rights for women and LGBT people. I believe that you will help end these wars.
Barack, I will listen to you. I am proud to call you my president. I hope that you will ask the American people to do some tough things. I hope that you mean it when you say you will listen to us, and I hope you mean it when you say you need our help. Because I’m here. I want to help. What we need now, in America, is a man who can tell us what sacrifices we can make, who can help us fulfill the legacy of JFK and ask what we can do for our country–and for our world.
I trust that you will be a global leader, the first non-white leader in a majority white country. I hope that multicultural families all over the world see you, and Michelle, and your beautiful daughters, and feel better about America.
I feel like I have been holding my breath for two years (or, hell, eight years!) and only now can I breathe deeply and inhale what is good about America. I have been angry at this country for a long time. I have been furious at Republicans and McCain and Bush supporters. I have said some things that were not very nice. I have flicked off a lot of McCain/Palin signs.
But watching John McCain concede last night, and watching GWB speak this morning, I felt something new. Something like relief. Something like forgiveness. Something like hope.
God bless you, Barack Obama. May you live up to all of your promise.

Obama

Written by vanessa steck

January 22, 2009 at 2:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

